County News Archive

Huron County Farm Bureau has awarded two $1,000 scholarships to local students who are furthering their education with our first annual scholarship.  The recipients of the awards can use the funds to attend college or trade school.


“We are honored to give back to the youth of our community by helping them with their future endeavors through our new scholarship program” said Rita Herford, Vice-President and Promotion & Education Chair of Huron County Farm Bureau.

Avery Kuhl was awarded one $1,000 scholarship.  Avery is the son of Ryan & Heather Kuhl of Sebewaing and a graduate of USA schools.  Avery plans on attending the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute and achieving a Hontech and YamaPro certificate.

Johanna Braun from Harbor Beach was another $1,000 scholarship winner.  Johanna is the daughter of Joe & Deanna Braun and a 2018 graduate of Harbor Beach Schools.  Johanna is pursuing a career in agricultural operations.


We would like to wish everyone who competed for these awards the best of luck as they continue their studies.


Applications are due annually on June 1st.  Applicants should be pursuing post-secondary education at either a 2- or 4-year college or trade school and parents must be a Huron County Farm Bureau member at least one year prior to the student applying.  Our goal in setting up this scholarship program is to reward students that show leadership skills and have a strong work ethic. 

Avery Kuhl (top)
Johanna Braun (bottom)
Huron County Farm Bureau Awards Scholarships

Join us virtually for our 2020 County Annual Meeting!

Huron County Farm Bureau members will set next year’s policy agenda at the organization’s annual meeting, August 19, 2020 at the Huron County Fairgrounds in the Farm Bureau Building.

The ongoing coronavirus crisis has forced us to make some difficult decisions and think creatively about how we can continue to serve as your voice of agriculture.  This year our County Annual will be very different from any other year but we can still provide you a choice on how our members can vote on the business of our organization, policy resolutions and the director election.   

If you would like a ballot please email
[email protected] and one will be forwarded to you after your membership is validated.  Ballots must be cast before 7:00 pm on 8/19/2020

Approved state and national policies will be forwarded to the Michigan Farm Bureau (MFB) Policy Development Committee, comprised of county Farm Bureau members representing each of the state’s 11 districts. The state policy development committee consolidates county recommendations and presents policies to the delegation at the MFB Annual Meeting.